Skip to main content

NYU Langone Medical Center Researchers Recognized for Excellence

Medical Societies Acknowledge Their Contributions in Research and Education Advancement

Six distinguished members of the NYU Langone Medical Center community were recently recognized for their contributions to advancing medical science and education.

Danny Reinberg, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular pharmacology, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for 2014. Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon the association’s members by their peers. Dr. Reinberg was cited by the AAAS for “distinguished contributions to the inter-related fields of transcription and chromatin, particularly for biochemical characterization of complex chromatin regulators and the determination of epigenetic states.” A highly regarded scientist, Dr. Reinberg is also a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, and an elected a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM).

Richard Tsein, D.Phil., the Druckenmiller Professor of Neuroscience, chair of the Department of Physiology and Neuroscience, and director of NYU Langone’s Neuroscience Institute, was named co-recipient of the 2014 Ralph W. Gerard Prize, the highest award presented by the Society for Neuroscience. Dr. Tsien shared the award with Roger Nicoli, MD, of the University of California-San Francisco. Dr. Tsien has contributed richly to what neuroscientists currently understand about cellular signaling. He played a central role in discovering and classifying diverse types of calcium channels, including those most critical to brain functions. His insights into the basic mechanisms of ion channel function, neurotransmitter release, and intracellular signaling also have helped elucidate the cell biology of changes in synaptic strength, which is believed to be important for learning and memory, and can go awry in neuropsychiatric disorders such as autism.

Stacie Grossman Bloom, PhD, senior director for administration and policy, and assistant professor of neuroscience and physiology, was awarded the Society for Neuroscience’s Louise Hansen Marshall Special Recognition Award, which honors an individual who has significantly promoted the professional development of women in neuroscience through teaching, organizational leadership, public advocacy, and more. Dr. Bloom assumed the role as executive director of the Neuroscience Institute at NYU Langone four years ago. While in this position, Dr. Bloom assembled a strong team of administrators who actively work on career development of scientists at all career stages.

The Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation (CLF) awarded Sergei Koralov, PhD, assistant professor of pathology, one of two 2014 CLARIONS Research Award Grants. CLARIONS stands for “Curing Cutaneous Lymphoma by Advancing Research, Innovation and Offering New Solutions.” Dr. Koralov’s research focuses on deciphering the role of skin microbiata in cutaneous lymphoma pathogenesis. In his research profile, Dr. Koralov describes his work this way: “I am taking advantage of conditional gene targeting to examine two distinct riddles. My first goal is to understand the role of RNAi in B cell development and function—in particular the role of short non-coding RNAs in epigenetic control of Ig loci. The second goal is to investigate the link between chronic inflammation, autoimmunity and cancer with specific focus on Th17 driven inflammation and T cell lymphomagenesis.”

Agnel Sfeir, D.Phil, faculty member in the Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine and assistant professor in of cell biology, was named one of this year's 18 recipients of a Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering. Dr. Sfeir’s goal is to understand the basis of incurred mitochondrial DNA aberrations and to manipulate the genome to revert such errors. Mitochondria are the ATP-generating powerhouses of our cells, carrying their own circular genome. Maintaining the integrity of the mitochondrial DNA is necessary for optimal cellular function and for protection against several diseases.

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA)’s ADEAGies Foundation announced Eduardo Rodriguez, MD, DDS, the Helen L. Kimmel Professor of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery, chair of the Department of Plastic Surgery, and director of the Institute of Reconstructive Plastic Surgery, received a 2015 William J. Gies Award for Vision, Innovation and Achievement for Outstanding Innovation by a Dental Educator.

Media Inquiries:

Deborah (DJ) Haffeman
Phone: 212-404-3567

We can help you find a doctor. Call 646-929-7800 or
browse our specialists.